Call Silas

January 18, 2011 at 8:01 pm (Uncategorized)

I have a book so small it fits into the palm of my hand.

It’s almost 700 pages, each one only three square inches. ‘The Writer’s Block’ (by Jason Rekulak) is full of challenges, tips and spark words, with inspiration from writers as diverse as Nabokov, Hemingway, Carver and Nin. Occasionally, when my ink well runs dry, I flip open a page at random and sit down at my desk.

A year ago, I turned to this: Invent a character who sees a phone number on a restroom wall. Describe what happens when he or she dials it.

The result, ‘Call Silas‘, has just been accepted by iconic punk publishers Paroxysm Press, for inclusion in their new anthology, ‘100 Lightnings.‘ I’m particularly happy about this because when I started submitting my writing, they were one of the first places to publish it.

I remember sitting cross-legged at the book launch of ‘Ten Years That Didn’t Kill Us’ as I read my story, ‘The December of Red and Honey.’ I needed to rest the book on my lap in case my hands shook – and I’m pretty sure they did. And I recall the delight when an audience member stopped me afterwards and asked “I need to know – did any of that really happen?”

I loved every minute.

‘The Writer’s Block’ is on my desk right now, several pages earmarked (yep, I’m one of those readers!).

I have a full cup of coffee, Koko Taylor on the stereo, bare feet…and plenty of time to write.

I could ask for nothing more right now.

6 Comments

  1. Leith O'Malley said,

    .. and we await what spills forth!

  2. inkymouth said,

    Thanks Leith! With Koko on my side, how can I go wrong?

  3. Jessica Tremp said,

    bare feet always help x

    • inkymouth said,

      I actually wrote that into the bio they requested – how right you are, little Monty x

  4. Lisa said,

    Darling,

    congrats on another one of your amazing writes being published. I know the book you refer to, I’ve seen it at your home and thought to maybe slip it into my back hehe

    nah I’d not do that
    or perhaps I could and blame Marlow 😉

    • inkymouth said,

      And I’d believe she’d taken it, too…little demon that she is! Thank you darling, so happy to have you in my corner x

Leave a Reply

