Molasses, catnip, & procrastination

February 6, 2011 at 12:45 pm (Uncategorized)

There are only three rules to writing a novel.

Unfortunately, no-one knows what they are.

W. Somerset Maugham

That smells so good. Just one more sip before I start…ok, Bookman Old Face, 12 point. Fresh coffee, cocoa oil burning. Kitten asleep. I can do this. I just need to shake the blanket of the next chapter and see what falls out.  When I’ve written..oh, 1500 words…I can put some music on to celebrate. Some Ike and Tina Turner, I think. I may even strut around the loungeroom to the Nutbush. Love that song..Salt pork and molasses, are all you’re gonna get in jail… Damn, so annoyed I missed the Grinderman gig last week. Maybe I should check online for reviews of it…no! Back to the novel. Brigit is waiting, tapping her boot impatiently for me to write her next scene. Why did I make her such a feisty character? I wonder if I should take my computer to Finland in July – or should I just write in my notebooks? Might just check on ferry prices to Estonia while I’m at my computer…and I think my coffee isn’t strong enough…is that Marlow waking up? I’ll just get the catnip mouse out and have a romp with her; ten minutes, that’s all. And change my dress, I need to write cross legged and this isn’t comfortable. And maybe try on that new little halterneck dress I bought last week on Brunswick Street, see how it looks again.

Then I’ll write.

2000 words before lunch.

I promise.

6 Comments

  1. Leith O'Malley said,

    This was a chuckle Bell and I recognise it well.
    Procrastination.

    Guilty!.

    • inkymouth said,

      Oh, I’m superb at procrastinating, Leith…and it almost always involves music. I’m sure you’ll understand!

  2. Lisa said,

    Oh that naughty procrastination,
    Now you get back to Brigit…xxx

    • inkymouth said,

      I’m taking Brigit’s red notebook with me this weekend, babe…it’s going to rain for days, so I’m hoping I can spill some ink her way. Will let you know! x

  3. Hilde said,

    FYI, you are TOTALLY part of my procrastination cycle: “let’s see if my girl posted anything new before I start working”.

    • inkymouth said,

      Ha! So glad to hear it, liefje…I must admit the same about your livejournal 🙂

Leave a Reply

