Rockin’ the catbox

April 8, 2011 at 12:52 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

I remember the first time I used the internet.

I was reluctant, being the Luddite that I am, and scowled at the screen as I told my friends ‘This is never going to catch on, you know’ and tapped in my first ever internet search.

Out of all my interests at the time (Medusa, mead making, how to get green hair dye out of carpet), I decided to search for my favourite band, the Lunachicks. These five heavily tattooed and wildly entertaining New York punk goddesses swept across the screen, and I spent the next hour realising how much I’d misheard their lyrics over the years.

Before the internet, if a band didn’t list their lyrics in their CD liners, singing along to your favourite music was a hit or miss process. Misheard lyrics are called mondegreens, and cause me so much mirth. Take a look at the following, and see if any raise a smile.

The ants are my friends, they’re blowing in the wind (The answer my friend, is blowing in the wind) – Bob Dylan

The sheep don’t like it, rockin’ the catbox (Shareef don’t like it, rock the casbah) – The Clash

Olive, the other reindeer (All of the other reindeer) – Rudolf, the red nosed reindeer

I wanna know, have you ever seen Lorraine? (I wanna know, have you ever seen the rain?) – Creedence Clearwater Revival

Lucy’s in a fight, with Linus (Lucy in the sky, with diamonds) – The Beatles

Kick her teeth out, tell me what’s wrong (Chiquita, tell me what’s wrong) – ABBA

She’s got a chicken to ride (She’s got a ticket to ride) – The Beatles

Baby come back, you can play Monopoly (Baby come back, you can blame it all on me) – Player

Cheap wine and a three-legged goat (Cheap wine and a three day growth) – Cold Chisel

Keep on rockin’ at Marine World (Keep on rockin’ in the free world) – Neil Young                 

Shamu, the mysterious whale (She moves in mysterious ways) – U2

But my favourite – how I’d love to believe someone actually thought this were true – came from a website dedicated entirely to mondegreens.

Bill Oddie, Bill Oddie, put your hands all over my body (Erotic, erotic, put your hands all over my body) – Madonna

I’d love to see that videoclip.

Or would I?

7 Comments

  1. Hilde said,

    My god! I laughed out loud through this entire post! I also used to think that she’s got a chicken to ride….

    • inkymouth said,

      You thought that too? I loved researching this…If my blog is an outlet for all the linguistic absurdities that catch my attention, well, I don’t think I’m going to be running out of them soon!

  2. Hilde said,

    It’s funny that you mention this, because I was thinking about this blog a lot after I posted my comment. I was thinking that you could make all the linguistic absurdities a constant theme in your posts, combined with your (travel) experiences and personal obsessions. It seems nothing like this is out there on the web (although, who knows, really. I have no knowledge of each and every blog out there) and…oh my god. Listen to me talking. I’m all about the marketing lately! Blame it on my thesis. Hell, blame it on my entire education! It’s become a bit of an obsession!

    • inkymouth said,

      “I was thinking that you could make all the linguistic absurdities a constant theme in your posts, combined with your (travel) experiences and personal obsessions.”

      That’s been my idea from the beginning, liefje – that was why I began this project in the first place 🙂

      I decided not to use this as an outlet for my creative writing, particularly because I submit much of my work and many publishers won’t accept work already on blogs.

      Instead, sInce I first studied linguistics, and especially since I’ve now been working as a language teacher, I’ve found that the stories that entertain my friends and generate the most discussion are those curious little snippets of linguistic magic that I store away in my little red notebook…obsolete words, misheard lyrics, obscure dialects, student mistakes, spoonerisms, bizarre phrases in guidebooks etc.

      And yes, considering how much I travel, being able to weave Icelandic, Dutch, Welsh and soon, Finnish and Estonian into my posts is such a treat….if only I could write it off on tax!

      Love you and your marketing obsession…I might swing your way via email and ask you a few more questions…

      PS I’m currently researching the proverbs from Bruegel’s stunning Netherlandish Proverbs painting…I particularly love ‘Lekker is slechts een vinger lang.” 🙂

  3. Erica said,

    I love misheard lyrics! One of my favorites is my sister’s, from when we were kids.

    “Damn, I wish I was your mother.” The real lyric to the Sophie B Hawkins song, of course, is Damn I wish I was your LOVER.

    And my own, from Pearl Jam’s “Black.” The real lyric is :

    I take a walk outside
    I’m surrounded by some kids at play

    I always thought he said something about DONKEYS at play.

    Have you ever seen this, speaking of Pearl Jam?

    • inkymouth said,

      Good lord woman – I just about sprayed my morning coffee all over my keyboard! The Anna Nicole part had me grinning, but for some reason the ‘potato wave’ is what got me snorting. Priceless!!

      • Erica said,

        my favorite is “make me fries!”

Leave a Reply

