Betty says

June 24, 2011 at 2:51 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m quite partial to June 24th.

The winter solstice is always a beautiful day for me – truly my favourite time of year, winter wench that I am. And a few days later, the 24th – today – is my birthday.

There are many lessons I’m yet to learn, but there are a few things I do know at this point in my life.

I know:

–   Cooking French feasts, walking in five inch heels and not covering my mouth when I laugh are all lessons my thirties have taught me.

–  Not bearing grudges is something I always thought I would grow out of. I’m still waiting.

–  A strut to funk music around my lounge room is a surefire way to circumvent writer’s block. There is very little Betty Davis can’t cure.

–  My fear of crumpets has a name – trypophobia – and even a facebook page. I am not alone! I am, however, somewhat peculiar.

–  For the first time in my life, the idea of owning property has begun to entice. I can’t say I’ll forego my yearly jaunts to Iceland or Albuquerque just yet, but when I do, I envision a flat with a red front door, and a balcony where I can read, my feet propped up on the railing.

–  I suddenly, inexplicably, find the decade of my birth so damn sexy: 70’s sideburns, winged collars on body shirts, lavish moustaches. Still haven’t quite come to terms with that.

–    The Professionals is THE BEST theme song  to a TV show ever.

 

– I am no longer afraid of my laugh lines.

–  My parents will only ever read the stories of mine I give them, and respect my wishes for them not to google my writing – there are some things a dad never needs to know about his daughter.

–  Five years after moving back to Melbourne from Brussels, I still dream in Flemish occasionally.

–  A honey martini is a guilty pleasure I’ll never tire of.

–  I’m no longer embarrassed to blare Dolly Parton or Neil Diamond records.

–  Being able to kiss my ex-boyfriend fondly on the forehead is a blessing indeed. Him letting me read him Rilke poetry in German, smiling at me indulgently, is pretty damn sweet too.

–  There are some books I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to revisit. I recently got one third through ‘The Bell Jar’ before nostalgia swirled, and I had to slide it gently back onto my bookshelf.

–   Listening to Elvis can still make me cry.

–   I know the acupressure points for a hangover, a headache, and travel sickness. I haven’t yet found the one that relieves the kick in the belly delivered by a politely worded rejection slip.

–  A beloved friend recently told me I’ve been known to swagger. I started to frown, to protest, but then thought…well, maybe it’s about time.

Sure beats the skulking I used to do in my twenties, hey?

Now if you’ll excuse me, there’s a heavy bass line that needs my feet to start stomping – I seem to have a hell of a lot to celebrate…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 Comments

  1. Jessica Tremp said,

    awoooo!

    • inkymouth said,

      I just ate a slab of that beautiful cake of yours for breakfast, washed down with a Kahlua coffee. Can’t thank you enough, my love X

  2. Leith O'Malley said,

    Happy Birthday Belloppleganger!
    Four days after my very own as it happens and it’s warming to read we share a few geministic (is that a word?) common traits.. although the playing of Neil Diamond may be pushing it just a tad.

    I have just opened a bottle of Wolf Blass yellow label Cab Sauv and am literally raising the glass now to wish you all the best. Well it’s German… sort of.

    May you continue your mystery and imagination for many more to come I say.

    Oh and there’s swagger?
    I do believe that pink dress is just around the corner :o)

    Ducking for cover,
    Leith x

    • inkymouth said,

      Ah, I remembered your birthday was around mine, but I thought it was a few days after it…hope you had a wonderful day, Leith! I’m toasting you right now with a coffee splashed with hair-of-the-dog Kahlua 🙂 I had such a wonderful, rich evening, full of laughter, quivering octopus balls and an amazing typewriter cake….poifect!

      And I do think I could persuade you on the Neil Diamond…’Girl, you’ll be a woman soon’ is magic! As for the pink dress, well, I’m only going to say this once: yesterday I wanted to buy a birthday dress and actually tried one on that had a touch of pink gingham…I lasted three seconds before my skin began to blister 🙂

      Thanks Leith, and happy birthday to you too X

  3. Dave Cochran said,

    Happy Birthday! Yayyyyyy!

    • inkymouth said,

      Thanks Dave! And as a wonderful present, Sarah, one of the friends you met me with in Amsterdam, just arrived here in Melbourne for a holiday…I can taste the martinis already…

  4. Loopy said,

    Brilliant my lovely girl! What a great way to sum up yer years!! I agree on The Professionals – god I LOVED that show, always got goose bumps from the theme song!
    Red door and a balcony sounds great – love the swagger – but keep a little of the scowl won’t you?

    Thinking of you heaps on this special day. So much love XXXXXXXXX

    • inkymouth said,

      I don’t think I can muster a scowl today, my lovely woman – I’m too happy. Alas, we both know one is likely just around the corner, knowing me!

      I had the best day; a massage, poetry books, whiskey at The Standard, dinner at a Japanese restaurant on Brunswick Street, then tequila shots at the Labour In Vain, surrounded by loving friends. I love that you know where these places are, even though you’re now on the other side of the world. Bring on the New York stories!! x X

  5. gretchen cello said,

    I cannot wait to hear about the magic of your day beautiful woman. I had French food and champagne three days in a row this week… in honor of your birthday. Let’s do five when I return. Miss you crazy. (see you SOON) x x x

    • inkymouth said,

      So soon, babe, so soon – I can’t wait to trade stories. Have missed you like crazy! Northcote ain’t New York, but I’ll do my best to make it as close as possible x X x

  6. Michael said,

    I’m sorry I missed the day, and I’m happy to say Happy Birthday when I can. I look forward to giving you a hug when I get the time.

    • inkymouth said,

      I think I managed to get two hugs from you last night, so consider ourselves sorted! So lovely to catch up with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

