Three little splashes of ink

September 13, 2011 at 9:28 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

German keyboards are crazy. In Berlin I’d head to my favourite internet cafe on Kastanienallee, make small talk with the owner in my less than shiny German, and head into the back room with a tiny bottle of Rotkäppchen champagne to check my email.

Little Red Riding Hood champers…sometimes, I know I only try things because the words sound good.

Damn writers.

Halfway through my month in Europe I worked my way around the rearranged letters on the German keyboard to find that three splashes of my ink had landed in lovely places while I was away.

The wonderful people at Lowestoft Chronicle have just released issue #7, and have included my story ‘I like your deer’s moustache, and other Lithuanian tales.’  If that title in any way intrigues you (I swear, sometimes the things that fall out of my pen surprise even me), head on over and check out the stellar work in this edition.

Metazen is a fabulous journal that publishes new writing every day; you can look through their archives for hours and still be entranced. They’ve published my story ‘The fig seed fountain’, so go take a peek if you have a few minutes.

Thirdly, a mix engineer in New York contacted me about my ‘Street of the Candlesticks’ piece, performed as part of the City Nights project on Radio National here in Australia. He’s working on a collaboration between musicians and writers, and asked for permission to incorporate text from my story with music and sound effects.

I had a shy little smile when I stepped back into the Berlin sun after that.

And I had plenty of Red Riding Hood to celebrate, believe me.

2 Comments

  1. Erica said,

    German keyboards ARE weird, I remember that from when I was there.

    I’m so happy for you!

    Also I just saw this and thought if you, which is why I made an impromptu visit to your blog:

    “The Germans have a word for over-eating caused by grief, loss, and emotional distress: Kummerspeck, or ‘grief bacon.'” How awesome is that?

    • inkymouth said,

      And Belgian keyboards are even crazier! Thanks babe, for the well wishes and also the beautiful little crumb of a German word you threw my way…Kummerspeck, how wondrous is that? Hope all is well with you, my little hardcore beauty.

Leave a Reply

