Triskele

January 12, 2012 at 5:26 pm (Uncategorized)

“The writer’s job is to get the main character up a tree, and then once they are up there, throw rocks at them.”

Vladimir Nabokov

I don’t think I’ve ever sent one of my characters up a tree, but I have just thrown one down a disused mine shaft in Wodonga, rifle in hand. When my research gets to the stage that I ring my father and ask ‘If I were to go kangaroo hunting, what kind of gun would I use?’, I know the story is brewing beautifully.

My father, however, never fails to take me literally and wonders why his animal loving, twenty years vegetarian daughter has suddenly turned.

You think he’d be used to this by now, right?

The result, Splinter, has just been published in Necessary Fiction, a fabulous online literary journal. Another story of mine, What to do when Joelene comes calling, has come online at Defenestration magazine and to top off the hat trick, a third story, I like your deer’s moustache and other Lithuanian tales, has just been adapted for performance on American radio by My Audio Universe.

 

If you’re interested in unpredictable kangaroo hunters, banjos and Deep South dialects, or lavish moustaches on small woodland creatures in Eastern Europe, clink on the links to your right.

2012 tastes sweet already.

2 Comments

  1. loopsta said,

    WOW, WOW and WOW!!!!
    So proud!

    XXXXX

    • inkymouth said,

      Thank you, my lovely woman! Hope all is well in your world X x

Leave a Reply

