Fljúga

March 29, 2017 at 9:27 pm (Uncategorized)

My March post is getting pushed to the end of the month, as my suitcase gets pulled out of the wardrobe.

Last week I had the supreme pleasure of reclining in my best friend’s lounge room, champagne in hand, Billie Holiday on the turntable. We discussed goddess temples in Rome, plague beaks in Berlin, and my ever present focus on glorious Iceland, setting of both my novel and my daydreams.

billie

Our lazy Sunday, sorted

We’re hitting the road again in one week.

bookshelf

I need to dig out my army boots and leopard print ear muffs, not used since my last writing residency in the forests of Finland. I have a pair of thermal hot pants I bought as a joke, yet was profoundly grateful for on my first writing residency, in far northern Iceland. I’m gradually accruing my winter wardrobe, for I know I’ll be heading back to this part of the world, again, and again, and again.

This trip to the snow will be bookended by time in Italy, where I’ve never been, and Berlin, for the tenth time. My Jewell and I will add to our treasure trove of mementos picked up at the Place du Jeu de Balle flea market in Brussels, the Flohmarkt in Berlin, and the Feira da Ladra in Lisbon, all attached to her wall with great reverence and joy.

wall of jewels

Lisa’s wall of jewels

 

My own collection involves Czech marionettes, Icelandic doves, and Amish flamingos…stories, each and every one of them.

bell jar

My memories

I spend eleven months of the year working like a maniac, just for those few weeks I can pull my suitcase over cobblestones, drink bad airport coffee, and stand with my notebook open, beckoning stories to jump in.

And it’s always, always worth it.

I’ll bring you back more stories, I promise.

 

1 Comment

  1. loopsta said,

    Can’t wait – woo hoo! One day I may meet you girls on one of your adventures!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

